North Carolina Community College Systems –North Carolina Independent Colleges and Universities (ICAA)

The 2015 Independent Comprehensive Articulation Agreement (ICAA) between Signatory Institutions of the North Carolina Independent Colleges and Universities (NCICU) and the North Carolina Community College System (NCCCS) is intended to provide smooth transfer for community college students who wish to continue their education at an NCICU Signatory Institution. The ultimate goal of this agreement is the seamless articulation from the community college to the NCICU institution with minimal loss of credit or repetition of work. The Signatory Institutions which adopt this agreement do so for the benefit of the transferring student. The Signatory Institutions include: Barton College, Belmont Abbey College, Bennett College, Brevard College, Campbell University, Chowan University, Gardner-Webb University, Greensboro College, Guilford College, Johnston C. Smith University, Lees-McRae College, Lenoir-Rhyne University, Livingstone College, Mars Hill University, Meredith College, Methodist University, Montreat College, North Carolina Wesleyan College, Pfeiffer University, Saint Augustine’s University, Salem College, Shaw University, St. Andrews University, University of Mount Olive, William Peace University, and Wingate University.

The ICAA rests upon assumptions common to successful articulation agreements. The primary assumption is that institutions recognize the professional integrity of other public post-secondary institutions that are regionally accredited for college transfer programs. All courses approved for college transfer under this agreement will be taught by faculty who meet the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) credential requirements. Another assumption is that substantial commonality exists in the lower-division general education requirements and courses currently offered at senior institutions and community colleges for the purpose of transfer.

The general education requirements of the receiving institutions remain in effect for all students not participating in this articulation agreement. Institution-wide, lower-division general education requirements serve as the starting point for determining specific general education courses in each baccalaureate major. The specific lower-level courses required for each major at the senior institution are determined by the senior institution and outlined in the baccalaureate degree completion plans published by the senior institution. Upper-division general education requirements and graduation requirements at the senior institution are not affected by this agreement.